Would you hold it against me?

It’s no revelation that certain songs get us revved up.  Eye of the TigerFlashdance.  Classics.

But I’m discovering you can get motivation fatigue (as it were) from hearing the same tracks over and over again (believe it or not there can come a point at which bein’ is not indeed believin’ when you’re 1k up a 2k hill, 8k’s into 20). 

So, I decided to treat myself to some new music for Sunday’s race.  And I did what anyone looking for information does; I hit google (sorry in advance, none of the results come anywhere near as close to hilarity as those “sweat pimples on…” that we discussed in Gratitude).  

There is just so much information up there on what to use for pace, motivation, speeding up, slowing down, pain walls, down hills… you name it, someone’s thought about it, tried it out with a run and posted about it.  There are playlists to overcome sluggish feet, long hills, long runs and short sprints.  Playlists for those of the country, hard rock, easy listening or folk music persuasion.  Impressively, by page five of results, I uncovered no less than eight “perfect” playlists to run to.  These people are clearly experts.

I went through a surprisingly large number of them (the word doc actually crossed 21 pages – I enjoy nothing if not a good bit of research) and downloaded a whole heap of new singles.

Among them was Pink’s So What (sorry, that’s a typo, it’s P!nk), Rihanna’s Umbrella (the cool one, with Jay Z in it, that’s spelt “umbrella” but sung “umberrella”), Eminem’s Won’t Back Down (featuring P!nk)  and Kanye West’s Jesus Walks (you know as well as I do that Britney’s not on this list because I already have all her music – shut up, I love her).

Jesus Walks… WOW!  What a perfect running track!  Perfect beat to get you into your rhythm.  And the sort of lyrics that make you think it was written specifically for long distance runners:

“God show me the way because the Devil trying to break me down
The only thing that I pray is that my feet don’t fail me now”

Hell yes.  That stuff’s got choirs and pleading to God and rhythm and talk of feet!  Good running track.

Same as the P!nk and Eminem collaboration (can you please forgive me as I revert to spelling P!nk as Pink – I can’t take myself seriously using an exclamation point instead of an i – I’m in my 30’s and I work in an office).  Name spelling aside, this is good stuff to run to.

Pink kicks us off with:

“You can sound the alarm
You can call out your guards
You can fence in your yard
You can pull all the cards
But I wont back down
Oh no I wont back down
Oh no”

Now, I’ll be honest, I don’t know exactly what that means, but the gist is she’s not giving up and she says it over a beat that you want to be hitting as you cross your first pain barrier, so it works for me.

What has surprised me is that I’m willing to keep going with this song.  Because, as it turns out, I’m very prepared to ignore my morals and values for a good beat to get my feet moving.

Those of you who know me well will know that I am the president of a feminist organisation here in Melbourne (ask Col. Hevey and Mr James about it – they love to talk about it).  We’re not hardcore (I wear a bra and work with a talented team of colourists, hair stylists and beauticians to get me out the door) but there are certain things that need to change for equality to occur (I shouldn’t have started talking about this because know I feel compelled to tell you that, here in Oz, there is an 18% gender pay gap [up from 17.3% in FY’09/’10] I’ll tell you more about this another day in another post). 

Oh – and a quick aside – for anyone that’s new here (Hi!  Welcome!  Thanks for coming!), I waffle.  I’m sorry, it’s hereditary.  Check out the Nicknames post to learn more about that, should you have the time and/or inclination.

Ok, get to the point, Hevey – Eminem and feminism…  Ok.  So, I’m doing my double lap of the Tan last night (in the dark, I fell over, I’ll talk about that tomorrow when my ego recovers) and I’m running along (as I do) and I tune into the actual words that Eminem sings (??) for a moment (if you’re easily offended, probably best to scroll down and just trust me that it’s bad)

“Bring the beat back
Bring me two extension chords
Imma measure my d*ck sh*t I need 6 inches more
F**k my d*cks big b*tch
Need I remind you that I dont need the f**king swine flu to be a sick pig”

(author’s spelling except for the asterisks)

Are you kidding me??  No, champ, you need not remind me that you don’t need swine flu to be a sick pig.

Now, whatever thoughts I may have about your spelling and grammar, Mr Eminem (if that’s your real name), I am deeply offended by your ramblings.  And yet, I just threw down my hard-earned cash (that I have to work 18% harder than you to earn) to purchase this (and don’t think for a single second that I believe you about the two extension cords plus six inches – if you’re going to lie, make it a believable lie).

And Pink!  What the hell are you doing joining in with this?  I thought you were one of us!  I’m not angry, I’m disappointed.

But herein lies the rub: I like running to this song.  I like Pink’s chorus; motivating, strong, paced well…

So, do I just focus on the sound of me gasping for breath during the verse’s or should I take the song off the playlist?   All the kids are listening to this stuff, how bad can it be?

It’s a dilemma.  A moral one and a feminist one.

My shrink’s always telling me, “Not every thing has to be a drama, Suzanne”, so should I just get over it?

And, since the running’s for a good cause and the song helps the running, perhaps the end justifies the means?

Perhaps the answer is not an answer but a question.

Britney, in all her wisdom (shut up, she is wise, like a little blonde Buddha), recently posed a question to the universe that fits the bill nicely (and which I will tweak here for my means): if I was to listen to this crap by Eminem in order to run my marathons, would you hold it against me?

Comments
6 Responses to “Would you hold it against me?”
  1. Kristi says:

    Listen to it! If it gets you running, go for it! PussyCatDolls “When I grow up” is in my playlist, it’s worlds away from how I live my life and I’m not apologising, I luffs it !!!

  2. Laurel says:

    I don’t think you should ever apologize for loving Britney Spears. Ever.

  3. We really need freelance desperately. After reviewing this site, We need to get you on our workforce. We pay out $35-$50 hourly. Our best writers are pulling in over $90K per year, composing part-time.
    Please swing by and see what we have to offer. http://write.ncsall.org

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] and believing that they don’t look utterly ridiculous (it’s a shame up there with my taste in music, but I love […]

  2. […] and believing that they don’t look utterly ridiculous (it’s a shame up there with my taste in music, but I love it). And Body Attack.  A class so tough it is rumoured to have made a friend of a […]



Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 41 other followers

  • My Marathons for Maddie in 2011

    Run for the Kids: 17 April - 14.38km
    Mothers' Day Classic: 8 May - 4km
    Run Melbourne: 17 July – half marathon
    Sandy Point Half: 21 August - half marathon
    Sydney Running Festival: 18 September – half marathon
    Melbourne Marathon: 9 October – marathon

